Black Friday Deal—Save up to 40% on an unlimited agents plan at $75.  

How to merge ticket

Updated on : December 14, 2022

The merge ticket feature allows the user to merge one or more tickets into another ticket. This might be useful if more than one ticket about the same issue is created. If a ticket is merged, just 1 ticket can be tracked rather than several tickets.

The following things will happen while merging tickets:

  • One of the tickets becomes primary and the others secondary.
  • Either the first or last message of the secondary tickets  updated in the primary ticket, which can be selected during the merge.
  • All the secondary tickets are closed once they are merged, if the user selects an option to close.
  • A public note is added to all the secondary tickets with a link to the primary ticket and an email notification is sent.
  • The User can also link the secondary ticket as a related ticket to the primary ticket.
  • The User can also add CCs and requester of the secondary ticket to the primary ticket CC.
  • Only 5 tickets can be merged at a time.
  • This is an irreversible process. The merged ticket cannot be unmerged.

Follow the steps given to merge a ticket:

  1. Open the tickets that need to be merged.
  2. Click on more option and select the Merge Ticket option to open a dialog box.
Menu where the user can find option to merge ticket
Ticket menu pop-up
  1. Search for the tickets by using the ticket ID or subject. Any tickets other than the current ticket can be searched.
Merge ticket dialog box to search secondary tickets
Merge ticket dialog box
  1. By default, the ticket from which the merge is initiated is a primary ticket. Users can change primary ticket by selecting Set as Primary option near the ticket which needs to be set as primary.
Merge ticket dialog box
Merge ticket dialog box

Merge ticket dialog box
Merge ticket dialog box
  1. The following are some additional options available while merging ticket:
    • Option to add CCs from the secondary ticket to primary ticket.
    • Option to add requester of the secondary ticket as CC to the primary ticket.
    • Option to add secondary ticket link to the primary ticket.
    • Option to close the secondary tickets after merging.
    • Option to add either the secondary ticket first message or secondary ticket last message.
  2. After selecting the required tickets, select the Merge option to merge the tickets.


Notes added while merging tickets

After the ticket is merged the following public note message will be added to the ticket:

Primary ticket:

Ticket conversation in primary ticket
Ticket conversation in primary ticket


Secondary ticket:

Ticket conversation in secondary ticket
Ticket conversation in secondary ticket


History logs while merging tickets

After the ticket is merged the following histories will be logged in the ticket:

Primary ticket:

History logs in primary ticket
History log in primary ticket


Secondary ticket:

History logs in secondary ticket
History log in secondary ticket


Additional settings while merging tickets

The following are settings that can be configured while merging tickets:

Merge ticket dialog box
Merge ticket dialog box


Options Explanation
Add the CCs from the secondary ticket to the primary ticket.Enabling this option adds the CCs from secondary tickets to the primary ticket CC.
Add the secondary ticket requester as a CC to the primary ticket.Enabling this option adds the requester of secondary tickets to the primary ticket CC only if the primary ticket requester and secondary ticket requester are different.
Add a secondary ticket link to the primary ticket.Enabling this option adds all the secondary ticket as related ticket for primary ticket.
After the merge, close all secondary tickets.Enabling this option closes all the secondary ticket after merging.
Add secondary ticket first message or last messageWhile merging the ticket, users can select either the secondary ticket’s first message or the secondary ticket’s last message to be added to primary ticket public note.


Permission for merging a ticket

For accessing the Merge ticket feature, an agent should have the Merge tickets permission assigned to his or her role. Refer to this article to know more about Roles and permission.

Permission required for an agent to merge tickets
Manage agents permission

Was this article helpful?

    Live Chat Icon