Help desk software with unlimited agents starts at $99.  Learn More

simple support ticket system

How to Use Advanced Filters and Save as Views in Reports to Further Drill Down Data

Updated on : September 16, 2022

Reports Views is a powerful feature that supports advanced filtering of data using the system or custom fields. Views can also be saved for future use.

The following are the various features and operations involved while working with reports views:

  1. Create a new View
  2. Edit a View
  3. Edit Settings of a View
  4. Set a View as Favorites
  5. Remove a View from Favorites
  6. Set a View as default
  7. Remove a View from default
  8. Delete a View

 

Create a new View

To create a new view, follow the given steps:

  1. In the agent portal, click the Reports module and choose the required Dashboard.
  2. Click Filter at the right-hand side to open the filter panel.
Filter New View Option
Filter New View Option
  1. Select the required criteria and click Apply to filter the data without saving it.
Apply Option
Apply Option
  • Select some required criteria and click Save to save the filter conditions as view. The Save View dialog opens.
Save View Dialog
Save View Dialog
  • You can name the view and choose access scope and click Save.
    Access Scope Description
    Private Visible only to you
    Any Agent Visible to any agent
    Group Visible to selected groups
Save Option
Save Option
  •  

    After the view is successfully saved, it will be listed in the left-side Views panel.

List of The Saved View
List of The Saved View

Edit a View

You can edit an existing view by adding or modifying any conditions using the following steps.

  1. Select a view from the Views panel.
View Option From The View Panel
View Option From The View Panel
  1. Click the highlighted icon (…) and choose Edit Filter.
Edit Filter Option
Edit Filter Option
  1. 3. Modify the saved conditions of the respective view loaded in the filters panel.
View Loaded in The Filter Panel
View Loaded in The Filter Panel
  1. After modification, click the Save button in the filter panel to save the changes.
Save Button in The Filter Panel
Save Button in The Filter Panel

Note: This option is available only to the view owner.

Edit Settings of a View

You can edit the settings of a view to change the view name or access scope permission using the following steps.

  1. Click the highlighted icon (⋮) and choose Edit Settings of the view whose settings are to be modified from the Views panel. The Edit View dialog opens.
Edit View Dialog
Edit View Dialog
  1. You can change the view name or access scope permission or both.
Changing The View Name
Changing The View Name
  1. After modification, click the Update button in the Edit View dialog to save the changes.
Update Button in The Edit View Dialog
Update Button in The Edit View Dialog

Note: This option is available only to the view owner.

Set a View as Favorites

You can add a view to your favorites list by following the given steps.

  1. Click the highlighted icon (⋮) near the View to be added under the favorites list and choose Add to Favorites from the Views panel.
Add to Favorites Option
Add to Favorites Option

Or click the star icon to add the view as a favorite.

Star Icon For Adding a View as Favorites
Star Icon For Adding a View as Favorites

After the view is added to favorites, it will be listed in the top with a yellow star icon.

List of The Added Favorites
List of The Added Favorites

Remove a View from Favorites

You can remove a view from your favorites list in the following way.

Click the highlighted icon (⋮) near the respective view and choose Remove from Favorites to remove the view from favorites.

Remove From Favorites Option
Remove From Favorites Option

Or click the star icon to remove the view from favorites.

Star Icon For Adding a View as Favorites
Star Icon For Adding a View as Favorites

 

Set a View as Default

If you set a view as default for a particular dashboard, the selected view will be displayed when you open a dashboard.

To achieve this, click the highlighted icon (⋮) near the required view and choose Set as default.

Set View as Default Option
Set View as Default Option

Remove a View from Default

You can remove a view from default for a particular dashboard in the following way.

Click the highlighted icon (⋮) near the respective view and choose Remove default.

Remove a View From Default Option
Remove a View From Default Option

Deleting a View

You can delete a view by using the following steps.

  1. Click the highlighted icon (⋮) and choose Delete for the view to be deleted from the Views panel.
Delete a View Option
Delete a View Option
  1. Click the Yes, Delete button from the Delete This View dialog.
Yes, Delete The View Option
Yes, Delete The View Option

Was this article helpful?

    Live Chat Icon