Some organization may have multiple products or services offering. In this scenario each product or services can be added as a brand. Brands allow you to have separate customer portals (help centers) for your products. The agent portals are common for all brands; you can access agent portals by adding /agent at the end of any customer portal URL (e.g.: https://yourcustomerportalurl/agent).
When you create a brand, a new customer portal is created. The customer portal can be white labelled to adapt to your product branding. A custom domain can also be mapped to the customer portal. When customers visit a customer brand portal, they can only see tickets related to those brands.
Agents can work on any brand portal by adding an agent at the end of the URL. Unlike customers, agent can view all brand tickets. They don’t have to visit their respective brand agent portal, this helps them in working collaboratively on multiple brands using a single unified agent portal. Access controls are also available and help to restrict agents viewing specific brand tickets.
Brand list page
To access the Brands module, go to, Admin Panel > Brands
In the brands table the following are available:
- The Brand ID,
- The Brand Name,
- The URL of the customer portal and
In the Status of the brand, you can see whether the brand is activated or deactivated.
Creating a brand
To create a new brand follow the following steps:
- Open brands in the admin module to open a dialog box.
- On the Add Brand dialog box, enter the brand name and the subdomain name.
- Click the Add option to add the brand.
After adding the brand, it will be directed to the customer portal settings page where it can be configured. Your new brand will be added to your brand list.
Note: You can also add a custom domain to your brand. To add custom domain or rename subdomain, please refer to these articles:
Changing or renaming BoldDesk subdomain
How to map, change or remove custom domain
What are all the actions you can do with brands
Brands include the following administrative options:
- Change the brand name.
- Set the brand as default.
- Edit the brand name.
- Activate the brand.
- Deactivate the brand.
- Activate the customer portal.
- Deactivate the customer portal.
- Configure the customer portal.
Set as default
On your brands list, the default brand is labelled as “Default”. This brand cannot be deactivated unless it is replaced by another default brand.
To change your default brand, follow the given steps:
- In the added brand list, click the More Options button.
- Select the option Set as Default Brand to open a dialog box.
Click the Yes option to change the default brand.
Note: If a brand is deactivated, you cannot set that brand as default.
Edit brand name
The Edit Brand Name option enables the user to change the name of the brand to a different name.
Note: The new brand name should be unique and not be the same as any other brand name which is already in use and either activated or deactivated.
The Activate Brand option, can be used to activate a brand, if it is deactivated. An activated brand will have its agent portal active, and the customer portal of the activated brand can be activated or deactivated.
When a brand is activated, the respective customer portal will also be activated irrespective of whether it was activated or deactivated earlier.
The Deactivated Brand can be used to deactivate a brand if it is in an activated state. A deactivated brand will have its agent and customer portal both deactivated.
Note: The customer portal of a deactivated brand cannot be activated.
The following are the consequences of deactivating a brand:
- The customer and agent portals will be deactivated within 15 minutes. Agents can use any active brand agent portal to access existing tickets.
- New tickets cannot be created through the portal.
- Any existing ticket replies, or notes cannot be added by the agents or customers.
- Emails sent to the brand’s support address will be dropped.
- Email notifications cannot be sent to the customers or agents.
Activate customer portal
The Activate Customer Portal option enables the user to activate the customer portal of a brand.
Note: A brand’s customer portal can be activated only if the brand is in active state.
Deactivate customer portal
The Deactivate Customer Portal can be used to deactivate a customer portal of an active brand. The Agent Portal will still be active and private tickets can be created.
Note: If a customer portal of the brand is deactivated, only private tickets can be created.
The following are the consequences of deactivating a customer portal:
- The brand’s customer portal will be inactive.
- Deactivation of the Customer Portal may take 15 minutes.
- Only private tickets can be created through the agent portal.
- Emails sent to the brand’s support address will only generate private tickets.
- Agents will still be able to access existing public or private tickets via the agent portal.
- Customers cannot be able to access any existing or new tickets.
- Customers cannot be notified of ticket updates via email.
Configuring customer portal
The configure option takes the user to the customer portal settings of the selected brand. For more details on configuring and rebranding customer portal refer to this article:
Configuring Customer Portal Settings
Permission for accessing brand module
To access the brands, the user should enable the Manage brands permission.