Help desk software with unlimited agents starts at $99.  Learn More

simple support ticket system

How to Set Ticket Category as Private

Updated on : September 8, 2022

You can set a ticket category as Private in the following ways:

  1. When creating a ticket, the ticket category can be set to private.
  2. For existing tickets, the ticket category can be set to private.

How to set a ticket’s category as private while creating a new ticket.

Follow the given steps to set ticket’s category as private:

  1. Go to the Create Ticket page.
  2.  Navigate to the Category field and select the Private option.
  3. A note/message will appear below the Category field to indicate that the ticket will be created as private and will not be visible to the customer.
  1. Click the Create button.
Create Ticket Page
Create Ticket Page

Note the following while setting a ticket category as private:

  • When you select the Private Category option, the Ticket Visibility option is also automatically set to Private and Disabled.
  • A Private chip is shown in the Create Ticket header to indicate that it is a private ticket.

To know more about how to create a private category, please refer to this article.


How to set a ticket’s category as private for the existing tickets.

To set ticket’s category as private for the existing tickets, follow the given steps:

  1. Go to the Ticket Profile page.
  2.  Navigate to the Category field and select the Private option.
  3. To make a ticket category private, click the Update button.
Ticket Profile Page
Ticket Profile Page
  1. A confirmation dialog will appear. Click the Yes button.
Confirmation Dialog
Confirmation Dialog

Note: When a ticket is mapped to the private category, you cannot change ticket visibility to public.

Consequences of marking a category as private

The following are the consequences of marking a category as private:                                                                                                                                       

  • When you mark a category as private, it will no longer be visible in the customer portal. Therefore, the customers will be unable to create tickets with the private category; only agents will be able to do so.
  • The visibility of all existing tickets associated with the private category will be changed to private automatically. Customers will be unable to access those tickets.
  • If you try to change the category back to Public, existing tickets marked Private will not be reverted. It must be changed manually.

Was this article helpful?

    Live Chat Icon