Help desk software with unlimited agents starts at $99.  Learn More

simple support ticket system

Deleting a Ticket Reply or Note Message

Updated on : September 1, 2022

The ticket messages can be deleted by both agents and customers based on the permissions. This option helps to remove any sensitive informations, or any credentials wrongly shared in the ticket.

Considerations before deleting a message:

  1. The email notification which is sent cannot be reverted, and no email notification will be sent to the ticket participants for deleting actions.
  2. The attachments and inline images will be deleted when a message is deleted.
  3. In a ticket, at least one public reply should exist regardless of the first reply and others.
  4. Satisfaction rating message cannot be deleted.


How to delete ticket reply in the agent portal?

You can delete a reply in the agent portal by using the following steps:

  1. Open the ticket and navigate to the reply which needs to be deleted.
  2. Click the highlighted icon (⋮) and select the Delete option to delete the reply.
Delete Ticket Option
Delete Ticket Option
  1. Click the Yes, Delete option from the Delete Message dialog.
Delete Message Dialog
Delete Message Dialog
  1. After deleting the reply, it will be shown as highlighted in the following image,
Deleted Ticket History
Deleted Ticket History


Permissions:

To delete a ticket reply in the agent portal, an agent should enable the Delete public comments in ticket permission. By default, Own comments will be selected, as highlighted in the following image,

Roles and Permission Page
Roles and Permission Page

PermissionsDescription
Own commentsThe agent can delete comments added by themselves.
Own or Any agent’s commentsThe agent can delete comments added by other agents and by themselves.
Own, any agent’s or any customer’s commentsThe agent can delete comments added by other agents or customers and by themselves.

Delete Public Comments in Tickets Permission
Delete Public Comments in Tickets Permission


How to delete ticket note message in the agent portal?

You can delete a note in the agent portal by using the following steps:

  1. Open the ticket and navigate to the reply which need to be deleted.
  2. Click the highlighted icon (⋮) and select the Delete option to delete the note.
Delete Note Option
Delete Note Option
  1. Click the Yes, Delete option from the Delete Note dialog.
Deleted Message Dialog
Deleted Message Dialog

After deleting the note, it will be shown as highlighted in the following image,

Deleted Note History
Deleted Note History


Permissions:

To delete a ticket note in the agent portal, an agent should enable the Delete private notes in ticket permission. By default, Own notes will be selected, as highlighted in the following image,

Roles and Permission Page
Roles and Permission Page

PermissionsDescription
Own notesThe agent can delete notes added by themselves.
Own or Any agent’s notesThe agent can delete notes added by other agents and by themselves.

How to delete ticket reply in the customer portal?

You can delete a reply in the customer portal by using the following steps:

  1. Open the ticket and navigate to the reply which need to be deleted.
  2. Click the highlighted Delete icon to delete the reply.
Deleted Message History
Deleted Message History
  1. Click the Yes, Delete option from the Delete Message dialog.
Yes, Delete Message Pop-up
Yes, Delete Message Pop-up
  1. After deleting the reply, it will be shown as highlighted in the following image:
Deleted Messages History
Deleted Messages History


Permissions:

To delete a ticket reply in the customer portal, the user can delete comments added by themselves. Additionally, the user must have permission to reply to the ticket (For example, the user must  either be a requester or added in CCs.)

Was this article helpful?

    Live Chat Icon