Help desk software with unlimited agents starts at $99.  Learn More

simple support ticket system

Contact Group Profile

Updated on : September 1, 2022

Contact group is used to group related contacts. You can also consider the contact group as a company where the contacts are the employees working under the company.

The contact group profile page displays information about a specific contact group such as mapped contacts, number of pending tickets, and more.

Viewing a contact group profile

To view a contact group, follow the steps below:

  1. Go to the Contact Groups module.
  2. Click the contact group’s name or go to the more options menu on the right and choose View Profile.
Contact Group Profile
Contact Group Profile
  1. The View in ticket filter option navigates to the ticket module, where you can view the tickets for the selected contact group in ticket list page.
Tickets Details Page
Tickets Details Page


Information on contact group profile

The contact group profile displays the following:

  •  Contact group’s name
  •  Description if any
  •  Total number of contacts mapped
  •  Total number of pending tickets
  •  The total number of on hold tickets
  •  The total number of closed tickets.
Contact Group Profile Information
Contact Group Profile Information

Note: Some information is displayed in the tab structure.

Details Tab

Details tab shows the contact group’s information entered when the contact group was created. For example, Contact Group Name, Created Date, Domain and more.

Contact Details Tab
Contact Details Tab


Tickets Tab

Ticket tab shows the overall tickets associated with the contact group.

Tickets Tab
Tickets Tab


Contact Group History

The contact group history tab displays overall contact groups’ profile changes. For the following cases history will be logged:

  • When creating a contact group.
  • When editing the contact group.

Contacts Tab

Contact tab shows all the mapped contacts and the ticket access scope associated with the contact group.

Note: When View all Tickets is disabled, you can only see your own tickets that are associated with the contact group.

Adding contacts to a contact group

Adding contacts to a contact group can be accomplished in two ways namely:

  • Adding existing contacts
  • Adding a new contact

Adding existing contacts

To add existing contacts, follow the steps below:

  1. Open the Contact group profile page.
  2. At the top right, click the Add contact button.
  3. Select Existing to open a dialog box.
Contact Group Profile Page
Contact Group Profile Page
  1. Select the contacts and click the Add button.
  2. The selected contacts will be listed. Before you save, you can remove the contacts and change the ticket access scope.
  3. Click the Save button to add the contacts.
Add Existing Contact Dialog
Add Existing Contact Dialog


Adding a new contact

To add a new contact, follow the steps below:

  1. Open the Contact group profile page.
  2. At the top right, click the Add contact button.
  3. Click New option to add the new contact.
Add a New Contact Tab
Add a New Contact Tab
  1. Select the contacts group you wish to add the new contact and click the Add button.
Add a New Contact Dialog
Add a New Contact Dialog


Removing a mapped contact

To remove a mapped contact, follow the steps below:

  1. Go to the Contact group profile page.
  2. Select the Contacts Tab.
  3. Click the remove button as highlighted to open a dialog box.
Remove Contact Icon
Remove Contact Icon
  1. A confirmation dialog box will appear. Select the Yes option to remove the contact.


Changing the ticket access scope

To change the ticket access scope, follow the given steps:

  1. Go to the Contact group profile page.
  2. Select the Contacts Tab.
  3. Toggle the switch button.
Switch Button
Switch Button

Note the following while changing the ticket access scope:

  • If checked, the end user can see all the tickets associated with the contact group.
  • If unchecked, the end user can only see their own tickets associated with the contact group.

Deleting a contact group

To delete a contact group, follow the steps below:

  1. Go to the Contact group profile page.
  2. At the top right, click the Delete Forever button.
Delete Forever Option
Delete Forever Option
  1. A confirmation dialog box will appear. Select the Yes, Delete option to delete the contact group.
Yes, Delete Option
Yes, Delete Option

Note: Only the contact group will be deleted. The associated contacts will not be deleted.

Accessing or Deleting Contact Group

To access or delete the contact group, you must have the following permission enabled:

  • View contact group.
View Contact Group Permission
View Contact Group Permission
  • Delete contact group.
Delete Contact Group Permission
Delete Contact Group Permission

Was this article helpful?

    Live Chat Icon